DUI Due Diligence

Driving Under the Influence and Due Diligence are not logical companions.  If you did your due diligence, you would have gotten a designated driver or made other transportation arrangements ahead of time.  However, if you are charged with DUI, there is some due diligence you can take to help the penalty fit the crime. A DUI is a serious charge which should be treated seriously.  Besides possible injury or loss of life, fines for DUI convictions start at $500 and run into thousands of dollars, depending on how many times you have been convicted, your blood alcohol level, and if you had a minor in the car with you.  Those are just the penalty expenses, which do not include court costs, legal fees, insurance increases, and possible labor hours lost due to incarceration and/or community service, and/or DUI education. While alcohol can impair your ability to operate a motor vehicle correctly with safety considerations to yourself and others, currently we deal with this problem through penalty, but there are flaws in our system. A DUI defense often deals with proper testing procedure and appropriate punishment.  Was the evidence obtained correctly and is it scientific?  Does the penalty fit the crime?  […] Read More

Bar Tab – First Time DUI Conviction

Eight grand is a heck of a bar tab, especially if you are paying it as a DUI conviction.  The St. Augustine Record recently ran an article with a cost breakdown for a first-offense DUI conviction (http://staugustine.com/news/local-news/2013-05-26/dui-arrest-will-prove-costly#.Ua44U0CTgYA).  Citing information from the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles, they totaled the sum at $8,000 for everything from insurance increases to court costs. A DUI is a serious charge.  Treat it seriously.  A DUI charge is an arrest, finger printing, and a criminal record…not to mention the financial inconvenience (and possible injury or loss of life).  Any time you are facing heavy fines or jail time, make sure the penalty fits the crime.  Do not accept the maximum penalty just because you do not know better.  Seek competent legal counsel to work with prosecutors for a correct resolution. There are a lot of things you can do with $8,000.  Paying for a DUI might not be the top of your list.  The best choice is prevention—do not drive while intoxicated and get stuck with a bar tab you cannot afford. Read More

Under the Influence of Legal Counsel

If you thought “Gather Go Get” was a difficult process for a Florida Driver’s License, try reinstatement after a DUI.  You might need more than just your documents in order; with a Driving Under the Influence arrest, you might want to also bring along a legal defense. Here is a brief rundown of consequences after a DUI conviction, as provided by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles: 1st DUI – 180 days to 1-year revocation effective on conviction date. 2nd DUI – Second offense not within 5 years from prior conviction will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation.  The second offense within 5 years from prior conviction will result in at least a 5-year revocation. 3rd DUI – Third offense not within 10 years of second conviction will result in a 180-day to 1-year revocation, unless the last 2 of the convictions fall within 5 years in which case a 5-year revocation will apply, and you are not eligible for a hardship license.  A third offense within 10 years of second conviction will result in a 10-year revocation. 4th DUI or Subsequent DUI Conviction – You must serve 5 years of this revocation period before being […] Read More